Club Committee 2021

PresidentMichael Maunsell
Vice PresidentTim Mc Ellistrim
ChairmanLeo O'Connor086 2270537
SecretaryMaurice Harty087
Vice ChairmanJohnny O'Hanlon
TreasurerMichael Griffin
Club P.R.O.Ronan Siochru086-8523867
YMA Co-ordinatorAisling Harty087 3495767
YMA SecretaryPadraig Broderick

Club Notes – Winter 2020

Due to Covid we were unable to run field evenings or events for obvious reasons. However, the events we have been able to run took a lot of thought and planning. Our commitee members also could not meet to discuss the running of the club in person but we have been using Zoom instead for our meetings which has been a great help.

We also set up a Whatsapp group for committee members which is very popular. Most things are discussed at length on this app and we will continue to use this going forward.

Annual Silage Competition
Our annual silage competition sponsored by Nicholas Leen of Agriking is also going ahead this year. Testing has already commenced and entries for the competition will be well up again this year. Thanks to Nicholas and Agriking for running this competition which has become a very popular competition with a big focus on silage quality and helping farmers improve fodder on their farms.

The club would like to offer its condolences to any members who lost a loved one during this difficult year.

Ronan Siochru PRO

AI Night
We hosted our annual AI Night in january at The Rose Hotel, Tralee. There were great bulls from all ai companies highlighted on the night. Thanks to Eurogene, Munster Bovine, Dovea Genetics and World Wide Sires for their presentations. Our guest speaker on the night was our very own club member Karol Kissane. Returning to Kerry and starting milking in 2013 Karol has an interesting story to tell on his road to being a dairy farmer. A Nuffield scholar in 2018 he presented his paper titled “Perception of Agriculture in Primary School Students and opportunities for developments” as well as speaking about his return to dairy farming.

Laune Bess 522 EX DMD
Richard & Breda Langford’s Laune Bess 522 EX DMD has produced in excess of 124,000kgs milk, 9,400kgs milk solids. 14 lactations completed in 14 consecutive years. Combining production efficiency, conformation, fertility and longevity. Laune Bess 522 EX is a Diamond Award recipient and is now aged 17 years old. She has also consistently transmitted her many qualities to her offspring.

Farming near Killorglin in the Kingdom County, Richard & Breda Langford’s Laune herd consists of 107 pedigree registered spring calving cows plus replacements.

Champion Cow Of The Year
Blythbridge Solomon Sydney EX90 3 year old
Congratulations to Johnny and Ann O’Hanlon on winning the Dairymaster cup for this years Champion cow of the year.

Blythbridge Solomon Sydney EX90-3yr Max. Bred in the UK, now owned by Golden Hill Farm in Co. Kerry recently maxed out her classification on her second calf. Her Dam is the renowned Illens Atwood Australia EX95-2E Grand Champion at UK Dairy Expo and 2nd at the European show in Colmar 2016 and now proving to be a brood cow. Sydney has 6 VG full sisters! ​ ​EX90-3yr Solomon x EX95-2E Atwood x VG89 Lheros X GP83 Dante ​ 2.00 ​9,602kgM 429kgF 309kgP 4.47%F 3.22%P.

Also in 2017 at the YMA calf show she won Champion Calf

Herds Competition
After careful consideration we were delighted to announce that we were able to continue our herds competition this year under strict adherence to the 2-metre physical distancing advice at the time. Our two judges this year were Robert Helen and Daimien Storan. This year we had 43 competitors including 8 new entrants. Because we couldn’t have an awards night this year, our competition sponsors Dairymaster compiled a video of the results which can be seen on our Facebook page. The video consisted of a short opening address from our chairman John Dillon, all the results given by representatives of Dairymaster, thoughts and reasons from our 2 judges as well as a small clip on this year’s champion cow. Compliments to Dairymaster for doing this brilliant video which was a big hit with almost 4,000 views and for their continued support.

Special thanks also to our members that took part in this year’s competition, our two judges Robert and Damien and everyone that made running this competition possible this year.

Herds Competition Results

New Entrants
Group 1          

  1. John Keane O Brennan, Kielduff, Tralee
  2. Michael Walshe, Derrinadaffe, Duagh
  3. Patrick Keane, Barraduff, Lisselton

Group 2          

  1. Michael O’Sullivan, Lisodugue, Fenit
  2. John Foley, Coolkeragh, Listowel
  3. Michael & Mark Corridon, Keel Ballyheigue

Non Recorded

  1. Leo O’Connor, Caherbreagh, Tralee
  2. Tommy Maunsell, Lerrig, Ardfert
  3. Pat & Diane Broderick,Gurtdaromagouna, Moyvane, Listowel

Overall Highest EBI Herd – John Galvin

Highest Production Herd

Autumn – JP O’Carroll

Spring – James Egan

Highest Conformation Herd

Autumn – Michael & Noreen Maunsell

Spring – William Horgan

Autumn Senior          

  1. Maurice & Geraldine Harty, Ballylongane, Ballyheigue
  2. Michael & Noreen Maunsell, Fortwilliam, Abbeydoney
  3. Ann & Johnny Hanlon, Goldenhill,Ballyduff

Autumn Intermediate           

  1. Tim Kirby, Derrinadaffe, Duagh
  2. JP O’Carroll, Ballinorig, Causeway
  3. Peter & Eileen Kennelly, Ballinprior, Ardfert

Spring Senior 

  1. James Egan, Tarmons, Tarbert
  2. William Horgan, Killeen, Killarney
  3. Donal O’Connell, Clahaneleish, Ballyheigue

Spring Intermediate  

  1. Ronan Siochru, Burnham, Dingle
  2. John Walsh, Counguila, Scartaglin
  3. John Galvin, Doonies, West Lispole

Spring Junior 

  1. Liam Quilter, Gortinare, Lixnaw
  2. Patrick Hanrahan, Lower Kilbaha, Moyvane
  3. Patrick Buckley, Meenarare, Duagh

Spring Junior A          

  1. Eddie Walsh, Moohane, Ballybunion
  2. Donal & Timothy Leahy, Tarbert
  3. Anthony O’Connor, Ardnegreine, Lenamore, Ballylongford

Autumn Senior and Intermediate (Damien Storan)            
Best Senior Cow                    

  1. Michael & Noreen Maunsell – 1583
  2. John Dillon Pipperhill – Aftershock Lynn
  3. Maurice & Geraldine Harty Ballylongane Graphic – 1136
  4. Ann & Johnny O’Hanlon – Balisto Pledge Muia
  5. Peter Kennelly – 997
  6. Kieran Savage – Lisnalty Beatrix

Best Junior Cow                     

  1. Kieran Harty – Emerald Sid Twizzle
  2. Michael & Noreen Maunsell – 1619
  3. John Dillon Pipperhill – Grafetti Ivory
  4. Timmie Kirby – Smearleview Deman Vixan
  5. Kieran Savage – Shanknock Frailko Violet
  6. Leo O’Connor

Best Heifer

  1. Michael & Noreen Maunsell – 1850
  2. Timmie Kirby – Smearlview Deman Shower
  3. John Dillon – Pipperhill Hang-time Ada
  4. Peter Kennelly – 1512
  5. Maurice & Geraldine Harty – Ballylongane Princess
  6. Kieran Harty – Ocean Aspen Beauty

Cow Family

  1. Michael & Noreen Maunsell – Song Family
  2. John Dillon – Ruby Family
  3. Maurice & Geraldine Harty – Lady Family

Spring Junior (Robert Helen)                        
Best Senior Cow                                            

  1. Patrick Hanrahan – 1216
  2. Anthony O’Connor – 798
  3. Eddie Walsh – 62
  4. Patrick Buckley – 786
  5. Liam Quilter – 440
  6. Donal & Timothy Leahy – 726

Best Junior Cow                                             

  1. Liam Quilter – 2458
  2. Donal & Timothy Leahy – 912
  3. Anthony O’Connor – 1007
  4. David Lovett – 1270
  5. Tommy Maunsell – 1179
  6. Owen O’Sullivan – 1371

Best Heifer                                         

  1. Tommy Maunsell – 1558
  2. Donal & Timothy Leahy – 960
  3. Anthony O’Connor – 1000
  4. Patrick Buckley – 1134
  5. Liam Quilter – 2485,
  6. Owen O’Sullivan – 1480

Cow Family                            

  1. Donal & Timothy Leahy – Promis Family 727, 960, 912
  2. Eddie Walsh – 264, 82, 21
  3. Liam Quilter – 1300, 2036, 2413

Access to Reports


Events Calendar

« Oct 2021 » loading...
Sat 30

Monamore Annual Draft Sale

October 30 @ 10:00 am - 4:30 pm