West Midlands

Club Secretary:

Oliver Costello
Pollagh, Newtowncashel, Longford, Co. Longford
Mobile: 086 8598273

Club Chairperson:
John Shortall, Moyvoughley Moate Co Westmeath
Tel.: 086 8235726


Winter 2016 – Club Notes

Our year started off with the annual A.G.M. in April held in Feericks in Rathowen. The guest speaker was Dr. Mary McEvoy from Germinal Seeds. There was great debate on the variety of grass and the new Pasture Profit Index. After the debate the election of officers took place. All were returned Chairman John Shortall, Secretary Oliver Costello, Treasurer Micheal Gunn, Y.MA. Emer Kelly, P.R.O. Haesel Dickson.

Field Evenings
Our 1st field evening was on the farm of Cathal & Micheal McCrann (Lough Rynn Holsteins) Dromod Co. Leitrim. They milk 70 cows on a Lely Robot and the cows are housed full time and fed on zero grazed grass and grass silage. They calve 20 heifers in June/July to keep full capacity on the robot. At the last classification of the herd they had 10EX & 22VG cows.

The herd in 2015 produced the largest volume of milk for a single robot in the Republic of Ireland. Last year they averaged 9500kgs @ 3.92%BF and 3.30%PR with a meal feeding rate of 2500kgs. We were lucky to have an indoor herd as it poured rain most of the evening. Our judge for the evening was Val Donoghue.

Under 16: 1. Daniel Scott, 2. Loren Scott, 3. Glynn Maree.
Junior: 1. Adrian Claffey, 2. Fintan Bray, 3. Fiachra Bray.
Seniors: 1. Thomas Stone, 2. John Stone, 3. Oliver Costello.

Our 2nd evening was Shamar Herd of Andrew & Ann Butler Rathowen Co. Westmeath. We were luckier with the weather on this evening. The herd consists of 100 cows split 1/3 autumn and 2/3 spring calving. In 2015 the herd averaged 9876kgs @ 3.47%BF and 3.27%PR. On the night we were lucky to see 13 year old Shamar Alee Mischief EX94 6E due her 12th calf in September. She has also been awarded a Diamond Award & Star Brood Cow Award. She averaged over 2000 gallons per lactation.

Our judge on the night was Mervyn Eager and the results were:-
Under 16:1. Emma Dickson, 2. Lauren Claffey, 3. James McLoughlin.
Juniors: 1. Brendan Reilly, 2. Jenny Hynes, 3. Mark Butler.
Seniors: 1. John Taylor, 2. Kenneth Bray, 3. Cecil Bennett.

Field evenings have a nice relaxed atmosphere for members to meet and socialise. They are a very important part of the clubs calendar and so a big thank you to the host farmers and their families for providing both cows and refreshments afterwards.

Herds Competition
The Herds competition took place as usual in June followed by the awards night. Our judge this year was Tom Kelly of Monamore. A thank you to the judge there is a lot of walking to do in a short space of time and Tom even ended up on crutches at the end of the week. The Herds Competition wouldn’t happen without the work put in by route planners and drivers so a big thanks to everyone involved which kept it flowing during the week. The results were;-

Heifer in Milk 1. Robert & Paul Thompson 2. Gerard & Shane McHugh 3. Austin Scott
Junior Cow:
1. Eamon Sweeney, 2. Seamus Claffey, 3. John Dolan.
Senior Cow:
1. Austin Scott, 2. Seamus Claffey, 3. Sean & Tom Kelly.

Heifer in Milk:
1. John & Thomas Stone, 2.Andrew & Ann Butler, 3. Jason Poyntz.
Junior Cow:
1. Kevin & Micheal Gunn 2. Andrew & Ann Butler 3. John & Thomas Stone
Senior Cow:
1. Martin Reilly, 2. Colm McGerr, 3. Andrew & Ann Butler.
Progeny Group:
1. P.J.& John Kelly (Laurelmore Tan), 2. John & Thomas Stone (Oman), 3. John, Lily & Edward Beirne (Neon).
Cow Family:
1. John & Graeme Taylor (Lilla), 2. Tom & Haesel Dickson (Patricia), 3. Mike Magan (Appoint).
Oldest Cow in Herd: Tom & Haesel Dickson (Cornskye Patricia EX94)
Highest EBI Cow: John & Deirdre Shortall (Moycool Cremin Alma €319)
Highest Production Cow: Mike & Mick Magan (Weeping Ash Jasper Appoint EX91)
Young Stockperson Award: Cathal & Shane Dolan.
Overall Champion Heifer in Milk: Mike & Mick Magan (Bunacloy VB Doorman Alioli ET)
Overall Champion Junior Cow: Martin Reilly (Riffeylands AXN Rose)
Overall Champion Senior Cow: John & Graeme Taylor (Cloonboygher Talent Ellie)

Small Herd:
1. Gerard & Shane McHugh, 2. Austin Scott, 3.David Heaslip.
Large Herd:
1. Joe O’Rourke, 2. Sean & Tom Kelly, 3. Robert & Paul Thompson.

Small Herd:
1. John, Lily & Edward Beirne, 2. Joe Devine 3. Jason Poyntz.
Large Herd
1. John & Thomas Stone, 2. John & Graeme Taylor, 3. Colm McGerr.

John & Thomas Stone, 2. John & Graeme Taylor, 3. Colm Mc Gerr.
Overall Champion Herd Martin Garvey.

Calf Show
The last two events of the summer were the YMA calf show and the club Tour.
All calves and handlers were so well turned out a pat on the back all round. Thanks to sponsors Volac, the judge Clayton Coulter and those who helped with the BBQ afterwards.

Club Tour
The Tour took us south this year to the Herds of Eamonn McLoughney Ardcroney
Nenagh and Timothy Fitzgerald Abbeyleix. Thank you to the host farms for a wonderful Day out and a nice end to our summer events.

Haesel Dickson


 YouTube-social-squircle_redTwitter_logo_blue  Facebook-logo-ICON-02  logo-instagram



Access to Reports

Events Calendar

« Dec 2017 » loading...
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun